Stay up to date with our latest COVID-19 updates here

Medical Insurance Australia Pty Ltd Board

Medical Insurance Australia Pty Ltd is a wholly owned subsidiary of MDASA Limited.

It provides medical and professional indemnity insurance to doctors, health care organisations, midwives and medical students throughout Australia.
Medical Insurance Australia Pty Ltd has nine directors, four of whom are non-medical, with expertise in the following areas:
  • Professional indemnity, insurance and risk management 
  • Actuarial 
  • Legal and corporate governance 
  • Accounting.

Medical Insurance Australia Board Members

  • Dr Andrew Pesce - Chairman

    Dr Pesce is an Obstetrician and Gynaecologist in public and private practice in Sydney and is a former Federal President of the AMA.
  • Ms Amanda Anderson - CEO and Managing Director

    Ms Anderson has close to 30 years’ experience in insurance, reinsurance, risk management, general business management and strategic planning with a specific emphasis on professional indemnity, general liability and medical malpractice insurance.
  • Ms Juliet Brown OAM - Director

    Ms Brown has significant experience in business and the law extending over various industries including insurance, health, transport and superannuation in both the public and private sectors.
  • Associate Professor Susan Neuhaus AM CSC - Director

    Associate Professor Susan Neuhaus is a General Surgeon and Surgical Oncologist. She has over three decades of experience in public hospital, defence and veteran health and medical research. Her broad experience as a Director across defence, commercial and not-for-profit sectors has been recognised in her election as President of the South Australian and Northern Territory Division of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.
  • Dr Stephen Parnis - Director

    Dr Parnis is a Senior Specialist in Emergency Medicine in Melbourne and is active in providing advice on matters of medical practice and health policy. He is a Consultant Emergency Physician at The Royal Victorian Eye and Ear Hospital, St Vincent’s Hospital and Werribee Mercy Hospital.
  • Mr Ian Stone - Director

    Mr Stone has extensive senior experience and expertise in the motor, home and health insurance industries in the private sector.
  • Professor Owen Ung - Director

    Professor Ung is a well‑known breast and endocrine surgeon in public, private and academic practice.  He is a committed clinician, researcher and teacher, obtaining extensive administrative and management experience through various clinical leadership roles.
  • Professor Paul Worley - Director

    Prof Worley is a GP with extensive experience in public hospital, local and rural health and medical research. He is currently the Executive Director of Clinical Innovation at the Riverland Mallee Coorong Local Health Network and practices at the Southern Fleurieu Family Practice, Yankalilla, South Australia. He was the National Rural Health Commissioner for the Australian Government from 2017 to 2020 and the Dean of the School of Medicine at Flinders University from 2007 to 2017.

Get the full picture

Download our latest Annual Review.

Insurance policies are issued by Medical Insurance Australia Pty Ltd (AFSL 255906).  MIGA has not taken into account your personal objectives or situation.  Before you make any decisions about our policies, please review the relevant Product Disclosure Statement (which can be found here) and consider your own needs.
Information on this site does not constitute legal or professional advice. If you have questions, or need advice please contact us for assistance.