MDASA Limited Board

MDASA Limited was formed in 1899.

It is a doctor owned mutual non-profit organisation which provides a range of membership services and benefits to doctors and medical students across Australia.  It has worked with and supported the medical profession for close to 120 years.
The Board of MDASA Limited comprises eight members, five of whom are medical directors.  The medical directors are elected by the membership and are subject to re-election by rotation in accordance with the Constitution. The Constitution of MDASA requires the majority of the directors must be medical members of MDASA Limited and that there must at all times be at least three non-medical directors who are appointed by the Board.
The non-medical representation on the MDASA Limited Board ensures that we maintain an important broad blend of expertise given the corporate and membership related issues that the organisation must consider.

MDASA Limited Board Members

  • Dr Martin Altmann - Chairman

    Dr Martin Altmann has been a practising Rural Procedural General Practitioner in Murray Bridge for over 25 years with special interests in obstetrics, paediatrics and surgery.  He maintains a strong commitment to medical training and education at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels.
  • Dr Andrew Pesce - Deputy Chairman

    Dr Pesce is an Obstetrician and Gynaecologist in public and private practice in Sydney and is a former Federal President of the AMA. He has also worked on behalf of the profession over the last 15 years on issues concerning medical indemnity and national disability.
  • Ms Amanda Anderson - CEO and Managing Director

    Ms Anderson has in excess of 26 years’ experience in insurance, reinsurance, risk management, general business management and strategic planning with a specific emphasis on professional indemnity, general liability and medical malpractice insurance.
  • Mr Henry Botha - Director

    Mr Botha is a Chartered Accountant specialising in accountancy, finance and management consulting. He also lectures extensively across Australia for the Australian Institute of Company Directors on the finance modules of their Company Directors Course.
  • Ms Juliet Brown OAM - Director

    Ms Brown has significant experience in business and the law extending over various industries including insurance, health, transport and superannuation in both the public and private sectors.
  • Associate Professor Peter Cundy - Director

    Associate Professor Peter Cundy is a well‑known Orthopaedic Surgeon in Australia specialising in paediatric orthopaedic surgery and general adult orthopaedics. He is active in research (University of Adelaide) and on the Editorial Board of several peer-reviewed Journals.  Associate Professor Cundy was the Senior Examiner in Orthopaedic Surgery 2010-12 for the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons. He regularly teaches in the South Pacific Islands.
  • Dr Roger Sexton - Director

    Dr Sexton has practised as a procedural rural general practitioner for over 30 years and is currently working in both rural and urban general practice, as Medical Director of Doctors’ Health SA and Doctors’ Health NT, consultant in executive health and a medical school clinical skills tutor. He is a past Presiding Member of the Medical Board of SA and a member of the PBAC. He has a keen interest in undergraduate and post graduate medical education and has been a strong national advocate for improving the health of doctors and medical students.
  • Professor Owen Ung - Director

    Owen Ung is a well‑known breast and endocrine surgeon His academic role is Professor of Surgery University of Queensland Royal Brisbane Clinical School. He is currently a council member for the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS) and elected member of the Federal Council of the Australian Medical Association. He is a committed clinician, researcher and teacher, obtaining extensive administrative and management experience through various clinical leadership roles.  Previous national representations include: Board member of General Surgeons Australia (GSA), Chair of the Breast Section of the RACS and Chair of the Breast Group of the Clinical Oncology Society of Australia (COSA).

Get the full picture

Download our latest Annual Report.

Insurance policies are issued by Medical Insurance Australia Pty Ltd.  MIGA has not taken into account your personal objectives or situation.  Before you make any decisions about our policies, please review the relevant Product Disclosure Statement (which can be found here) and consider your own needs.