Medical Advisory Panels

MIGA has established Medical Advisory Panels in key States across Australia, comprised of Members who are representative of our large and diverse membership.

The role of MIGA's Medical Advisory Panels is to:
  • Guide MIGA on strategies for promotion of the organisation and growth and retention of our business
  • Be a reference point for advice on insurance and membership matters as they relate to the medical profession
  • Keep MIGA informed on the views of our members about MIGA and our products and services
  • Provide intelligence to MIGA on matters impacting the profession that may be relevant to medical indemnity and matters to do with our competitors
  • Keep MIGA informed on key developments at a College and specialty level, national and state, that MIGA needs to be aware of
  • Provide opinions on issues which arise in relation to our products and services to ensure we continue to respond to our members' needs.
The purpose of the Medical Advisory Panels is to ensure that:
  • MIGA is well connected to the doctors that it insures and would like to insure
  • We are building relationships with key and influencial members of the profession
  • Issues to do with doctors and their medical indemnity needs are well understood and considered by MIGA as part of everyday decisions and processes at every level
  • MIGA's decisions and strategies are well informed from a health care and doctors' perspective
  • MIGA is seen as an influential advocate for doctors by doctors, their professional societies and colleges, and government.

The Panels are an essential resource for MIGA and enable us to directly engage with our Members to better understand their views and experiences. 

MIGA Advisory Panel Members

  • South Australia

    Chair: Associate Professor Susan Neuhaus
    Dr Tony Barbaro – Resident Medical Officer (PGY4)
    Dr Adelaide Boylan – General Practice – Non procedural
    Dr Robert Fitridge – Vascular Surgery
    Dr Matthew Holman – Cosmetic Surgery
    Dr Stephen Holmes – Obstetrics
    Dr Kym Horsell – Urology
    Dr Matthew Hutchinson – Orthopaedic Surgery
    Dr Patrick Kennewell - (PGY2)
    Dr Christine Lai – General Surgery
    Dr Andrew Lavender – Anaesthesia
    Mr Matthew McConnell – Salaried Medical Officer
    Dr James Moore – General Surgery
    Dr Tara Naige - Paediatrics Advanced Registrar
    Dr Richard Pope – Orthopaedic Surgery
    Dr Matthew Rackham – Salaried Medical Officer
    Dr Cathy Reid – Dermatology
    Dr Prash Sanders – Cardiology
    Dr Robert Singleton – Anaesthesia
    Dr Peter Wormald – ENT
  • New South Wales/Australian Capital Territory

    Chair: Dr Andrew Pesce
    Dr Ron Bezic – Cosmetic Surgeon
    Dr David Bollinger – Anaesthesia
    Dr Costa Boyages – General Practice – VMO Palliative Care
    Dr Sean Davis – General Surgery Registrar
    Dr Emma Fenech – GP Registrar
    Dr Lai Heng Foong - Emergency Medicine Specialist
    Dr Brian Harrisberg – Ophthalmology
    Dr Jill Harrisberg – General Practice – Non procedural
    Dr Kate Kearney – Cardiology
    Dr Menolly Lee – PGY3 
    Dr Steven Leibman – General Surgery
    Dr Andreas Loefler – Orthopaedic Surgery
    Dr Michael van der Griend – Obstetrics & Gynaecology
  • Victoria

    Chair: Dr Stephen Parnis
    Mr Simon Banting – General Surgery
    Dr Emma Choong – Resident Medical Officer (RMO2)
    Dr Palmyra De Banks – General Practitioner
    Dr Tony Dicker – General Practice – Non procedural
    Dr Rachel Goh – Emergency Physician
    Mr Bernard Lynch – Orthopaedic Surgery
    Dr Julie Miller – Endocrine Surgery
    Dr Nigel Munday – Surgical Assisting
    Dr Wei Ming Ooi – Breast Surgery
    Dr Simon Permezel – Ophthalmology - Procedural
    Dr Patrick Tansley – Cosmetic Surgery
    Dr Chris Wriedt – Radiology
    Dr Renee Zeng – Resident Medical Officer (RMO3)
  • Queensland

    Chair: Professor Owen Ung
    Dr Andrew Apel – Ophthalmology
    Dr Nicholas Bryant – Radiology
    Dr Anna Burrows – Gynaecology
    Dr Andrew Clarke – Cardio-thoracic Surgery
    Dr Ben Green – General Surgery
    Dr Geoffrey Holt – Cardiology
    Dr Chris Jackson – Anaesthesia
    Dr Cassandra Joyce – Intensive Care Registrar
    Dr Lawrence Malisano – Orthopaedic Surgery
    Dr Patrick Tansley – Cosmetic Surgery
    Dr Nicholas Tsang – Diagnostic/Interventional Radiology Registrar
    Dr Katherine Williams – General Practice
  • Doctors in Training

    MIGA recently formed a new Doctors in Training (DiT) Medical Advisory Panel, which first met in August 2022.

    The DiT Medical Advisory Panel comprises members currently on MIGA's State Medical Advisory Panels, who are invited to attend two national online meetings per year.  The aim of the DiT Medical Advisory Panel is to better inform MIGA about matters that are relevant to Doctors in Training, who are so important for MIGA's future.

    Our DiT Medical Advisory Panel currently comprises the following members:
    • Dr Tony Barbaro - Resident Medical Officer (PGY4)
    • Dr Emma Choong - Resident Medical Officer (RMO2)
    • Dr Sean Davis - General Surgeon Registrar
    • Dr Emma Fenech - GP Registrar
    • Dr Cassandra Joyce - Intensive Care Registrar
    • Dr Patrick Kennewell - PGY2
    • Dr Menolly Lee - PGY3
    • Dr Tara Naige - Paediatrics Advanced Registrar
    • Dr Nicholas Tsang - Diagnostic/Interventional Radiology Registrar
    • Dr Renee Zeng - Resident Medical Officer (RMO3)

Insurance policies are issued by Medical Insurance Australia Pty Ltd (AFSL 255906).  MIGA has not taken into account your personal objectives or situation.  Before you make any decisions about our policies, please review the relevant Product Disclosure Statement (which can be found here) and consider your own needs.
Information on this site does not constitute legal or professional advice. If you have questions, or need advice please contact us for assistance.